Around Columbus Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Close Up: Cinema Along the River

Museum, Film
The booming film industries of Georgia and Alabama have showcased the states’ communities on the silver screen for years, and the Chattahoochee Valley is no exception. Whether in Columbus, Phenix City, Fort Benning, or other nearby towns, film crews have brought Hollywood to the area while inspiring local filmmakers to create their own cinematic works. This exhibition spotlights the numerous movie and television productions filmed or set in the Chattahoochee Valley, as well as depictions of the area and the greater Southeastern region in American cinema. The careers and innovations of local screen actors, filmmakers, and theater companies past and present will be discussed, as well as movie stars and other luminaries who visited the area for work or personal reasons. A partial list of the productions to be featured includes We Were Soldiers, Sweet Home Alabama, Norma Rae, Warm Springs, Kiss of the Tarantula, Black Hawk Down, Need for Speed, The Green Berets, The Phenix City Story, The Homesman, Tank, Your Mother Wears Combat Boots, and Eat White Dirt.
Event Info: (706) 748-2562
Information: 706-748-2562
Free
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 6/27/17 - Wed 6/28/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/29/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 6/30/17 - Sat 7/1/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/2/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/4/17 - Wed 7/5/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/6/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/7/17 - Sat 7/8/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/9/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/11/17 - Wed 7/12/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/13/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/14/17 - Sat 7/15/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/16/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/18/17 - Wed 7/19/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/20/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/21/17 - Sat 7/22/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/23/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/25/17 - Wed 7/26/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/27/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/28/17 - Sat 7/29/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/30/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/1/17 - Wed 8/2/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/3/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/4/17 - Sat 8/5/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/6/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/8/17 - Wed 8/9/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/10/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/11/17 - Sat 8/12/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/13/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/15/17 - Wed 8/16/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/17/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/18/17 - Sat 8/19/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/20/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/22/17 - Wed 8/23/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/24/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/25/17 - Sat 8/26/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/27/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/29/17 - Wed 8/30/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/31/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 9/1/17 - Sat 9/2/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/3/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/5/17 - Wed 9/6/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 9/7/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 9/8/17 - Sat 9/9/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/10/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/12/17 - Wed 9/13/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 9/14/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 9/15/17 - Sat 9/16/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/17/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/19/17 - Wed 9/20/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 9/21/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 9/22/17 - Sat 9/23/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 9/24/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 9/26/17 - Wed 9/27/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 9/28/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 9/29/17 - Sat 9/30/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/1/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/3/17 - Wed 10/4/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 10/5/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 10/6/17 - Sat 10/7/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/8/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/10/17 - Wed 10/11/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 10/12/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 10/13/17 - Sat 10/14/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/15/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/17/17 - Wed 10/18/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 10/19/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 10/20/17 - Sat 10/21/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/22/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/24/17 - Wed 10/25/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 10/26/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 10/27/17 - Sat 10/28/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 10/29/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 10/31/17 - Wed 11/1/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/2/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/3/17 - Sat 11/4/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/5/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/7/17 - Wed 11/8/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/9/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/10/17 - Sat 11/11/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/12/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/14/17 - Wed 11/15/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/16/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/17/17 - Sat 11/18/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/19/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/21/17 - Wed 11/22/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/23/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/24/17 - Sat 11/25/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 11/26/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 11/28/17 - Wed 11/29/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/30/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/1/17 - Sat 12/2/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/3/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/5/17 - Wed 12/6/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/7/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/8/17 - Sat 12/9/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/10/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/12/17 - Wed 12/13/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/14/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/15/17 - Sat 12/16/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/17/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/19/17 - Wed 12/20/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/21/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/22/17 - Sat 12/23/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/24/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 12/26/17 - Wed 12/27/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/28/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/29/17 - Sat 12/30/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 12/31/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/2/18 - Wed 1/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/4/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/5/18 - Sat 1/6/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/7/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/9/18 - Wed 1/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/11/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/12/18 - Sat 1/13/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/14/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/16/18 - Wed 1/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/18/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/19/18 - Sat 1/20/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/21/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/23/18 - Wed 1/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/25/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/26/18 - Sat 1/27/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 1/28/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 1/30/18 - Wed 1/31/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/1/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/2/18 - Sat 2/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/4/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/6/18 - Wed 2/7/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/8/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/9/18 - Sat 2/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/11/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/13/18 - Wed 2/14/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/15/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/16/18 - Sat 2/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/18/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/20/18 - Wed 2/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/22/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/23/18 - Sat 2/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 2/25/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 2/27/18 - Wed 2/28/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/1/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/2/18 - Sat 3/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/4/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/6/18 - Wed 3/7/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/8/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/9/18 - Sat 3/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/11/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/13/18 - Wed 3/14/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/15/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/16/18 - Sat 3/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/18/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/20/18 - Wed 3/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/22/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/23/18 - Sat 3/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 3/25/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 3/27/18 - Wed 3/28/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/29/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/30/18 - Sat 3/31/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/1/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/3/18 - Wed 4/4/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/5/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 4/6/18 - Sat 4/7/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/8/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/10/18 - Wed 4/11/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/12/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 4/13/18 - Sat 4/14/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/15/18 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 4/17/18 - Wed 4/18/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 4/19/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 4/20/18 - Sat 4/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 4/22/18 at 1pm-5pm 

Columbus Museum
address  1251 Wynnton Rd.
 Columbus, GA  31906
phone (706) 748-2562
hours Tue, Wed, Fri., Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Thu. 10 am-9 pm; Sun. 1 pm-5 pm
general adm Free
www.columbusmuseum.com