Around Columbus Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



From Flying Aces to Army Boots

History/Science, Museum
Once thought of as the war to end all wars, World War I ushered in a new era of global military engagements. The United States’ entry for the last 18 months of the war also marked a shift in American foreign policy. This exhibition explores the effects of World War I in the Chattahoochee Valley. Beyond military history, the exhibition will look at the social and political climate in the region during the first years of the war, 1914-1917, and changes to the home front during 1917-1918, alongside the local opinion of President Woodrow Wilson and the Treaty of Versailles. The experiences of local soldiers who fought in World War I receive special attention, as well as the impetus for the creation of Camp (now Fort) Benning at the end of the war as a U.S. Army infantry training school. African Americans’ service in the war, the life and career of Columbus native and French flying ace Eugene Bullard, and women’s volunteer service at home and abroad are showcased.
Event Info: (706) 748-2562
Information: 706-748-2562
Free
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 6/27/17 - Wed 6/28/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/29/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 6/30/17 - Sat 7/1/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/2/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/4/17 - Wed 7/5/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/6/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/7/17 - Sat 7/8/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/9/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/11/17 - Wed 7/12/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/13/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/14/17 - Sat 7/15/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/16/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/18/17 - Wed 7/19/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/20/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/21/17 - Sat 7/22/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/23/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 7/25/17 - Wed 7/26/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/27/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 7/28/17 - Sat 7/29/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/30/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/1/17 - Wed 8/2/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/3/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/4/17 - Sat 8/5/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/6/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/8/17 - Wed 8/9/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/10/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/11/17 - Sat 8/12/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/13/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/15/17 - Wed 8/16/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/17/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/18/17 - Sat 8/19/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/20/17 at 1pm-5pm 
 • Tue 8/22/17 - Wed 8/23/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/24/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 8/25/17 - Sat 8/26/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/27/17 at 1pm-5pm 

Columbus Museum
address  1251 Wynnton Rd.
 Columbus, GA  31906
phone (706) 748-2562
hours Tue, Wed, Fri., Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Thu. 10 am-9 pm; Sun. 1 pm-5 pm
general adm Free
www.columbusmuseum.com